Seven Wonders of the World updated

The Grand Canyon, Machu Picchu and Mount Kilimanjaro don’t make it apparently, but Iguazu Falls, Halong Bay and Table Mountain do! At least that is according to a Swiss foundation that was founded in 2001 to establish the Seven Wonders of the World for today’s travellers. The original wonders have long since passed out of traveller’s itineraries and the Hanging Gardens of Babylon and the Lighthouse of Alexandria were 2 of the original wonders, all man-made. This latest list from the New 7Wonders Foundation focuses on natural wonders. Voted on via text message and the internet over a couple of years the new Seven Wonders are likely to be:

  • Halong Bay in Vietnam
  • The Amazon Rainforest
  • Iguazu Falls, Brazil
  • Jeju Island, Korea
  • Komodo, Indonesia
  • Puerto Princesa, the Philippines
  • Table Mountain, South Africa

There will be many who disagree with this list – as with any such poll, but it is interesting and I am sure it will increase the number of people who want to visit those Wonders they have not yet discovered for themselves. 

Call Us